Awards for Fantasy/Science Fiction Literature

Locus Young Adult Award is an annual set of literary awards by the science fiction and fantasy magazine Locus. The winners are selected by poll of magazine readers. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all award young adult winners and finalist titles available for checkout. The 2015 award winning Young Adult title is Half a King.

    

Similar awards are the Nebula Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction/Fantasy and Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Award. All Nebula winning and nominated and Mythopoeic winning and finalist titles are also available for check out at Alkek.

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) Printing @ Alkek

We now have BYOD printing (bring your own device).

Here’s how it works.

EMAIL PRINTING

Using your Texas State e-mail account, send an email to one of these addresses (duplex-alk@txstate.edu or letter-alk@txstate.edu (duplex is for double-sided print jobs, letter is for single- sided print jobs).

Attach any documents would like to print to the email.  The body of your email also show up as a print job if you want to print that way.

Go to a print release station to release your print jobs.  There are print release stations available on every floor of Alkek library.

UPLOAD PRINTING:

Navigate to http://printeron.its.txstate.edu/

Click of the print button.  Login with your Texas State netID and password.  Expand all of the categories and select a printer you want to print two.  Use duplex for two-sided print jobs and letter for single-sided print jobs.  Browse for an upload the document you want to print.  Click continue once the document is selected for upload.  Click continue once more after adjusting page sizes.  Wait for the job to upload.  Once the page displays complete go to a print release station to release your job.

IMG_0612

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar searches the contents of many (but not all) academic journals. However, it does not provide access to the fulltext material. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to log in or buy the article.

If you follow the Alkek Library link to Google Scholar here, you will have to sign in ONCE with your NET ID and then it’s all clear sailing.

In any case, please don’t buy the article – you can get it through us.  If you hit a dead end, use interlibrary loan.

Google Scholar does not search ALL the scholarly literature because some publishers restrict access.

How To Read A Call Number and Find a Book

callnumCall numbers are those letters and numbers written on a piece of paper taped to the spine of the book. There are just codes for different subjects – psychology, criminal justice, poetry, and so on.

Normally, you’d be doing a search in the catalog and you’ll see this.

bigca

The call number eight in the middle of the record.  It also tells you what floor to go to.

Once you get to the floor, each aisle tells you what numbers are on that aisle. Just like a grocery store.

Audiobooks on CD Are Great For Commuters

Check out one of our audiobooks on CD titles.

You can search here and limit to audiobooks or walk up to the third floor and browse the titles (they are in the upper right hand of the floor, or ask to be shown the area).

We have everything from ancient history to psychology to recent works like this title from Erik Larson (In the Garden of Beasts).

Juvenile Awards for Fantasy Literature

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Award honors fantasy books for younger readers (young adults to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all award winners and finalist titles available for checkout. The 2015 award winning Children’s Literature title is A Snicker of Magic.

   

Assassin

A similar award is the Nebula Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction/Fantasy and all winners and nominated titles are also available for check out at Alkek. The Young Adult award was presented in 2015 to Love Is the Drug.

   
   

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

Video Tutorials: How to Use Local Market Audience Analyst

Check out these videos about our databases Local Market Audience Analyst (the actual LMAA requires Internet Explorer). 

Here’s how you make ranked list of geographies most likely to buy your product, where certain demographic groups live, and % of PRIZM categories.

Ever wonder what else your target consumer bought? For example, if you buy SUVs, what kind of travel do you need? You can also find out what people with certain attitudes buy.

Coming Soon: Fall Juvenile Titles

The editors at Publisher’s Weekly have compiled a list of some of “the most notable and hotly awaited titles for children and teens out this fall“. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection will have them when they are available…until then, catch up on the featured authors’ current publications available for checkout! PW has a related article on upcoming new titles.

Drew Daywalt
Audrey Wood
Phillip C. Stead
Mac Barnett
Katherine Applegate
Jeff Kinney
Rebecca Stead
Rick Riordan
Brian Selznick
Rainbow Rowell
Libba Bray
Ransom Riggs
Patrick Ness
Marissa Meyer