About Arlene

Alkek Library's Subject Librarian for Social Work, OWLS, College of Education departments (HHP,C&I,CLAS). I also manage Alkek's Juvenile Collection. https://twitter.com/alkeklib_arlene https://www.facebook.com/alkeklib.arlene http://guides.library.txstate.edu/arlene

Jane Addams Peace Association Award

The Jane Addams Children’s Book Awards are given annually to the children’s books published the preceding year that effectively promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races as well as meeting conventional standards for excellence. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all award winners and honored titles available for checkout. The 2015 award winning titles are Separate is Never Equal for Younger Children and The Girl from the Tar Paper School for Older Children.


2015 Jane Addams Honor Titles for Younger Children are:

shooting-at-the-stars  whispering-town

2015 Jane Addams Honor Titles for Older Children are:

Silver People  revolution

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

2015 Morris YA Award Recipient

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award, first awarded in 2009, honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.  The award’s namesake is William C. Morris, an influential innovator in the publishing world and an advocate for marketing books for children and young adults. Bill Morris left an impressive mark on the field of children’s and young adult literature. He was beloved in the publishing field and the library profession for his generosity and marvelous enthusiasm for promoting literature for children and teens. This year’s winner is Gabi, A Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero. Four finalists were also named. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all current and previous winners and finalists available for checkout.


See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

Notable Children’s Read-Alouds

The Wanda Gág Read Aloud Book Award for children’s literature recognizes the best picture book of the year to read aloud to younger children. Picture books for children between the ages toddlers to age eight are considered. Alkek Library collects all Wanda Gág award winners and honored titles. The 2015 winner is A Perfectly Messed-Up Story by Patrick McDonnell; the honor title is Sam & Dave Dig a Hole by Mac Barnett/illustrated by Jon Klassen.


Two other awards recognizing notable read-alouds are the E.B. White Read-Aloud award and the Comstock Read Aloud award. The E.B White Read-Aloud award recognizes books reflecting the universal read aloud standards that were created by the work of the author E.B. White in his classic books for children: Charlotte’s Web, Stuart Little, and The Trumpet of the Swan. The Comstock Read Aloud award recognizes the best picture book of the year to read aloud to older children. Picture books for children from the age range of 9-12 are considered. All picture books eligible for the award are field-tested with children. Alkek Library collects all titles recognized by the E.B. Read-Aloud White award as well as the Comstock Read Aloud award. 


See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

2015 Edgar Allan Poe Awards Announced!

The Edgar Allan Poe Awards, popularly called the Edgars, are presented every year by the Mystery Writers of America. The Edgars honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, television, film, and theater . Alkek Library collects all nominees and award winners in the category of Juvenile/Young Adult. The 2015 winners are Greenglass House by Kate Milford and The Art of Secrets by James Klise.


The Nominees included:


See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

April is Poetry Month!

Celebrate Poetry Month by sharing the gift of poetry with children. A select number of titles have been pulled and are currently on display in the 3rd floor Juvenile Exhibit. Alongside the display cart of poetry material you can also see the latest books recently added to the Juvenile Collection. Many more recommended, classic, and award-winning children’s poetry books can be found in the Juvenile Collection on the 3rd floor of the library, including awards like the Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry AwardClaudia Lewis Award, and titles named as NCTE Notable Poetry books. Since April is also Mathematics Awareness Month, how about some math poetry books!




In Honor of Dr. Seuss

March 2nd is Dr. Seuss’ birthday and kicks off Read Across America (March 2-6, 2015). In honor of Dr. Seuss, share the gift of reading your favorite books with children. Did you know the Theodor Geisel award was established in his honor and that Alkek Library has all award winner and honor titles? The Juvenile Collection also offers many of his books and movies based on his books as well. Did you know And to Think that I Saw it on Mulberry Street was the first Dr. Seuss book…and that it was rejected 27 times before being published by Vanguard Press? See http://www.catinthehat.org/history.htm




And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street, 1937
Bartholomew & the Oobleck,1949
The Butter Battle Book, 
Cat in the Hat, 1957
Cat in the Hat Comes Back, 1958
Cat’s Quizzer, The
Daisy-Head Mayzie
Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are? 1973
Dr. Seuss ABC, 
Dr. Seuss Sleep Book, 
The Five Hundred Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins, 1938
The Foot Book, 
Fox in Socks, 1965
Great Day for Up! 1974
Green Eggs and Ham, 
Happy Birthday to You, 1959
Hop on Pop, 1963
Horton Hatches the Egg, 1940
Horton Hears a Who, 
How the Grinch Stole Christmas, 
Hunches in Bunches, 1982
I Am Not Going to Get up Today!, 1987
I Can Draw It Myself: By Me, Myself with a Little Help from My Friend Dr. Seuss, 1970
I Can Lick Thirty Tigers Today & Other Stories, 1969
I Can Read with My Eyes Shut!, 1978
I Had Trouble in Getting to Solla Sollew, 1992
If I Ran the Circus, 1956
If I Ran the Zoo, 1950
King’s Stilts, 1939
Lorax, 1971
McElligot’s Pool, 1947
Marvin K. Mooney, Will You Please Go Now, 1972
Mister Brown Can Moo, Can You, 1970
My Book About Me, 1969
Oh, Say Can You Say?, 1979
Oh, the Places You’ll Go!, 1990
Oh! The Thinks You Can Think!, 1975
On Beyond Zebra, 1955
One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish, 1960
Scrambled Eggs Super!, 1953
The Seven Lady Godivas, 1987
Shape Of Me And Other Stuff, 1973
Sneetches And Other Stories, 1969
There’s a Wocket in My Pocket! 1974
Thidwick, the Big-Hearted Moose, 1948
Wet Pet, Dry Pet, Your Pet, My Pet
Yertle the Turtle & Other Stories, 1958