February Library eNews Is Live!

We’re excited to present the February issue of Library eNews, featuring services and resources to serve our Texas State community. This issue introduces our new 3D printing service, provides tips on career exploration and honing research skills, showcases our University Archivist and a poem written for Alkek’s “Tell Us Your Story” competition–and much more!

Library eNews (also accessible at https://digital.library.txstate.edu/handle/10877/5952)

Inside This Issue:

Director’s Message
My Home Away From Home

Tell Us Your Story Winner
“The Alkek Library,” by Isabel Briana Torres

Student Voices
How Alkek and a Hike Helped Me Find My Way

Step Up Your Research
Using Library Resources to Sharpen Research Skills

Meet Our Staff
Kristine Toma, University Archivist

News from the North
Faculty: Place Reserve Items at the RRC Library

Collections Spotlight
Calling All Art Lovers!

At the Wittliff Collections
Wittliff Exhibit Highlights Classic Texas Films

Texas State University History
Glimpses of University History on Flickr

Copyright Corner
Using Images from the Internet

 

 

New Juvenile Books

Many New Books have recently been added to the Juvenile Collection and many of those are currently on exhibit. Visit the exhibit cases on the 3rd floor of the library to see what we have.  Challenger Deep was named the 2015 winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature. Alkek Library’s Juvenile Collection offers all winning, finalist, and longlist titles of the National Book Award as well as many other awards.

   

    

    

   

   

   

Texas State and the Wittliff Collections Acquire Sandra Cisneros Archives

All Sandra Cisneros books here.

This week, Texas State is announcing that it has acquired the literary archives of internationally acclaimed author and poet Sandra Cisneros. Cisneros, among the first Latina writers to be published by a major press, has helped pave the way for other Latino writers. Her books, rich in their interpretations of life in the Southwest and Mexico, have been translated into more than 20 languages. Cisneros’ most popular work, The House on Mango Street, has sold more than 6 million copies and inspired generations of readers worldwide.

Her documents comprise more than 250 boxes of manuscripts, diaries, travel journals, correspondence, photographs, videos, publicity materials, personal effects, interviews and speeches which collectively chronicle her literary career. This treasured archive is a perfect fit for the Wittliff Collections, which is devoted to preserving and illuminating art and literature depicting the Southwest. Cisneros’ documents will serve as a valuable resource, enhance the visibility of Latino literature and provide inspiration to young writers seeking to find their own voices for self-expression.

September Library eNews: ALKEK@25 Anniversary Issue

Library eNews: September 2015 edition

Here’s a preview of this month’s news:

Director’s Message 
Time to Celebrate!
Student Voices  
Chasing the Dream to Become a Registered Nurse
Step Up Your Research
New Staffing Models for Research Help
Collections Spotlight 
Then and Now: Collections at Alkek
Digitization Initiatives Growing at the Library
Discovering Government Resources
From Gov Docs to .Gov: Changes to Gov Info
Copyright Corner
Video Performance in the Classroom & on TRACS
Staff Feature
Jerry Weathers, Head Access Services Librarian
News from the North
Celebrating Years of Library Support
At the Wittliff Collections
Three New Exhibitions Open Now!
Texas State University History
Alkek Library Celebrates Its 25th Anniversary

Welcome to the first edition of the University Library’s electronic newsletter for the Texas State University community for the 2015-2016 academic year!  We hope that students, faculty, and staff will stay connected with the Library through our eNews features, including information about services, collections, and events at Alkek and the Round Rock Campus Library.

This month’s issue features many articles related to the Alkek Library’s 25th anniversary.  We especially encourage you to join in our celebration with a reenactment of the 1990 Book-It Brigade.  A “human chain” of students, faculty, staff, and community leaders will pass six books from Old Main (home of the original campus library) to the Alkek Library, linking the past with the present.  The first 400 participants will receive free commemorative t-shirts.  Refreshments will be provided at Alkek afterwards.

Where:  Meet at the scrolling marquee sign in the middle of the Quad – from there, people will form a human chain linking Old Main and the Alkek Library.

When:  Wednesday, September 23; human chain begins forming at 9:30 a.m.; book pass will start shortly after 10:00 a.m.

 

Awards for Fantasy/Science Fiction Literature

Locus Young Adult Award is an annual set of literary awards by the science fiction and fantasy magazine Locus. The winners are selected by poll of magazine readers. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all award young adult winners and finalist titles available for checkout. The 2015 award winning Young Adult title is Half a King.

    

Similar awards are the Nebula Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction/Fantasy and Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Award. All Nebula winning and nominated and Mythopoeic winning and finalist titles are also available for check out at Alkek.

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

“Obscure, but brilliant, YA Novels”

The Guardian writes: “Teen site member jhansenwrites, creator of #VeryRealisticYA, explores some of the totally unique YA books you’ve probably not come across but really ought to look up”…and all are available at Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection.

                   

 

Juvenile Awards for Fantasy Literature

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Award honors fantasy books for younger readers (young adults to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all award winners and finalist titles available for checkout. The 2015 award winning Children’s Literature title is A Snicker of Magic.

   

Assassin

A similar award is the Nebula Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction/Fantasy and all winners and nominated titles are also available for check out at Alkek. The Young Adult award was presented in 2015 to Love Is the Drug.

   
   

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.