New Juvenile Books

Many New Books have recently been added to the Juvenile Collection and many of those are currently on exhibit. Visit the exhibit cases on the 3rd floor of the library to see what we have.  Challenger Deep was named the 2015 winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature. Alkek Library’s Juvenile Collection offers all winning, finalist, and longlist titles of the National Book Award as well as many other awards.

   

    

    

   

   

   

Awards for Fantasy/Science Fiction Literature

Locus Young Adult Award is an annual set of literary awards by the science fiction and fantasy magazine Locus. The winners are selected by poll of magazine readers. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all award young adult winners and finalist titles available for checkout. The 2015 award winning Young Adult title is Half a King.

    

Similar awards are the Nebula Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction/Fantasy and Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Award. All Nebula winning and nominated and Mythopoeic winning and finalist titles are also available for check out at Alkek.

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

“Obscure, but brilliant, YA Novels”

The Guardian writes: “Teen site member jhansenwrites, creator of #VeryRealisticYA, explores some of the totally unique YA books you’ve probably not come across but really ought to look up”…and all are available at Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection.

                   

 

Juvenile Awards for Fantasy Literature

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Award honors fantasy books for younger readers (young adults to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all award winners and finalist titles available for checkout. The 2015 award winning Children’s Literature title is A Snicker of Magic.

   

Assassin

A similar award is the Nebula Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction/Fantasy and all winners and nominated titles are also available for check out at Alkek. The Young Adult award was presented in 2015 to Love Is the Drug.

   
   

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

Coming Soon: Fall Juvenile Titles

The editors at Publisher’s Weekly have compiled a list of some of “the most notable and hotly awaited titles for children and teens out this fall“. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection will have them when they are available…until then, catch up on the featured authors’ current publications available for checkout! PW has a related article on upcoming new titles.

Drew Daywalt
Audrey Wood
Phillip C. Stead
Mac Barnett
Katherine Applegate
Jeff Kinney
Rebecca Stead
Rick Riordan
Brian Selznick
Rainbow Rowell
Libba Bray
Ransom Riggs
Patrick Ness
Marissa Meyer

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jane Addams Peace Association Award

The Jane Addams Children’s Book Awards are given annually to the children’s books published the preceding year that effectively promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races as well as meeting conventional standards for excellence. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all award winners and honored titles available for checkout. The 2015 award winning titles are Separate is Never Equal for Younger Children and The Girl from the Tar Paper School for Older Children.

  

2015 Jane Addams Honor Titles for Younger Children are:

shooting-at-the-stars  whispering-town

2015 Jane Addams Honor Titles for Older Children are:

Silver People  revolution

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

2015 Morris YA Award Recipient

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award, first awarded in 2009, honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.  The award’s namesake is William C. Morris, an influential innovator in the publishing world and an advocate for marketing books for children and young adults. Bill Morris left an impressive mark on the field of children’s and young adult literature. He was beloved in the publishing field and the library profession for his generosity and marvelous enthusiasm for promoting literature for children and teens. This year’s winner is Gabi, A Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero. Four finalists were also named. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all current and previous winners and finalists available for checkout.

     

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.