Juvenile Awards for Fantasy Literature

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Award honors fantasy books for younger readers (young adults to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all award winners and finalist titles available for checkout. The 2015 award winning Children’s Literature title is A Snicker of Magic.

   

Assassin

A similar award is the Nebula Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction/Fantasy and all winners and nominated titles are also available for check out at Alkek. The Young Adult award was presented in 2015 to Love Is the Drug.

   
   

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

Coming Soon: Fall Juvenile Titles

The editors at Publisher’s Weekly have compiled a list of some of “the most notable and hotly awaited titles for children and teens out this fall“. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection will have them when they are available…until then, catch up on the featured authors’ current publications available for checkout! PW has a related article on upcoming new titles.

Drew Daywalt
Audrey Wood
Phillip C. Stead
Mac Barnett
Katherine Applegate
Jeff Kinney
Rebecca Stead
Rick Riordan
Brian Selznick
Rainbow Rowell
Libba Bray
Ransom Riggs
Patrick Ness
Marissa Meyer

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jane Addams Peace Association Award

The Jane Addams Children’s Book Awards are given annually to the children’s books published the preceding year that effectively promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races as well as meeting conventional standards for excellence. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all award winners and honored titles available for checkout. The 2015 award winning titles are Separate is Never Equal for Younger Children and The Girl from the Tar Paper School for Older Children.

  

2015 Jane Addams Honor Titles for Younger Children are:

shooting-at-the-stars  whispering-town

2015 Jane Addams Honor Titles for Older Children are:

Silver People  revolution

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

2015 Morris YA Award Recipient

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award, first awarded in 2009, honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.  The award’s namesake is William C. Morris, an influential innovator in the publishing world and an advocate for marketing books for children and young adults. Bill Morris left an impressive mark on the field of children’s and young adult literature. He was beloved in the publishing field and the library profession for his generosity and marvelous enthusiasm for promoting literature for children and teens. This year’s winner is Gabi, A Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero. Four finalists were also named. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all current and previous winners and finalists available for checkout.

     

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

Notable Children’s Read-Alouds

The Wanda Gág Read Aloud Book Award for children’s literature recognizes the best picture book of the year to read aloud to younger children. Picture books for children between the ages toddlers to age eight are considered. Alkek Library collects all Wanda Gág award winners and honored titles. The 2015 winner is A Perfectly Messed-Up Story by Patrick McDonnell; the honor title is Sam & Dave Dig a Hole by Mac Barnett/illustrated by Jon Klassen.

   

Two other awards recognizing notable read-alouds are the E.B. White Read-Aloud award and the Comstock Read Aloud award. The E.B White Read-Aloud award recognizes books reflecting the universal read aloud standards that were created by the work of the author E.B. White in his classic books for children: Charlotte’s Web, Stuart Little, and The Trumpet of the Swan. The Comstock Read Aloud award recognizes the best picture book of the year to read aloud to older children. Picture books for children from the age range of 9-12 are considered. All picture books eligible for the award are field-tested with children. Alkek Library collects all titles recognized by the E.B. Read-Aloud White award as well as the Comstock Read Aloud award. 

   

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

2015 Edgar Allan Poe Awards Announced!

The Edgar Allan Poe Awards, popularly called the Edgars, are presented every year by the Mystery Writers of America. The Edgars honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, television, film, and theater . Alkek Library collects all nominees and award winners in the category of Juvenile/Young Adult. The 2015 winners are Greenglass House by Kate Milford and The Art of Secrets by James Klise.

 

The Nominees included:

             

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

Metaphoric Still Life, Art, and Books Exhibit Alkek Library 1st Floor

Image

metaphoric still life exhibit FLYER

Still Life with a Gilt Cup or Still Life with a Broken Cup, Heda Willem Claesz, 1635, courtesy of the Rijksmuseum- Amsterdam

Metaphoric Still Life, Art, and Books Exhibit

May 6 – June 15, 2015
1st Floor Alkek Library
Texas State University

Curated by Studio Art Professor Kathleen McShane-Bolton and Art & Design Librarian Tara Spies Smith

A selection of 2-D Design students’ handmade accordion books inspired by their photographs exploring the metaphors of still lifes, nature morte, vanitas, momento mori, and mortality.

And featuring books about art on these various themes, books about making books, and accordion style books from the library’s collection. Come check it out!

 

April is Poetry Month!

Celebrate Poetry Month by sharing the gift of poetry with children. A select number of titles have been pulled and are currently on display in the 3rd floor Juvenile Exhibit. Alongside the display cart of poetry material you can also see the latest books recently added to the Juvenile Collection. Many more recommended, classic, and award-winning children’s poetry books can be found in the Juvenile Collection on the 3rd floor of the library, including awards like the Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry AwardClaudia Lewis Award, and titles named as NCTE Notable Poetry books. Since April is also Mathematics Awareness Month, how about some math poetry books!

Poetry