How to Search Using Parentheses – As In: (Emily or Charlotte) Bronte

What if there are two are more common or related words and you want to include both of them in your search?  You’ll use parentheses – it works like an algebraic equation.

You enter your search into the database like so:

Example (blue or harvest) moon. You’ll get results that include blue and moon and harvest and moon.

(Soviet or Russia) “Cold War”

You’ll get results that include Soviet and “Cold War” AND Russia and “Cold War.”

If you have been doing searches like blue or harvest moon, you’ll get results back that feature only the word blue together with results that mix harvest and moon. No blue moon exactly, just blue….skies, bells, tooth, etc…

The parentheses make sure (those words go together.)

Scopus Database Lets You Search By Most Cited Articles

Check out Scopus!

Scopus   http://catalog.library.txstate.edu/record=e1000956~S1a

Subjects Science, Technology, Medicine, Social Science, Arts & Humanities. Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize scholarly research. With Scopus you can to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them. Tutorials and quick reference guides will help you get started.
Coverage Journals: 1823 – present; Books: 2005-present; Conference proceedings 1980-present
Format Citation analysis tool. This resource does not contain articles or other content.
Type Other Database
Updated Daily

Maximum Users   Unlimited

Available to           Faculty, Staff, Students, Walk-in users

Permitted Uses    Download, copy, print out for academic non-commercial purposes; Print limited portions ;Download limited portions;

Categories: Citation Analysis , Multi-Subject , Research Tools , Science , Engineering and Technology , Humanities

 

 

 

How To Find Keywords Within 5 Words of Each Other

Bet you didn’t know about “proximity” searches in the Ebscohost family of databases. These commands allow you to search 2 words that occur in the text near each other.

The upshot of which is: the article is more likely to be written about your topic if your words occur close to one other.

(Ebscohost is the name of the publisher that brings you several of our databases. You may know them by their proper names, like Academic Search Complete. Once inside an Ebsco database, you can always “choose databases” to search several Ebscohost databases at once.)

Here’s the official directions from Ebscohost:

Proximity Searches

You can use a proximity search to search for two or more words that occur within a specified number of words (or fewer) of each other in the databases. Proximity searching is used with a Keyword or Boolean search.

The proximity operators are composed of a letter (N or W) and a number (to specify the number of words). The proximity operator is placed between the words that are to be searched, as follows:

Near Operator (N) – N5 finds the words if they are within five words of one another regardless of the order in which they appear.

For example, type tax N5 reform to find results that would match tax reform as well as reform of income tax.

Within Operator (W) – In the following example, W8 finds the words if they are within eight words of one another and in the order in which you entered them.

For example, type tax W8 reform to find results that would match tax reform but would not match reform of income tax.

In addition, multiple terms can be used on either side of the operator. See the following examples:

  • (baseball or football or basketball) N5 (teams or players)
  • oil W3 (disaster OR clean-up OR contamination)

Lynda.com: Watch Tutorials on Computer Programs

Lynda.com (link here) is a favorite with our patrons.  Very advanced walkthrough video tutorials for various computer programs.  Description below:

Online tutorials for popular software tools and the latest technology for beginner to advanced skill levels. Beyond Microsoft Office and business tools for both MAC and PC, Lynda.com provides instruction on software for 3D Animation, Audio/Music/Video, AutoCAD, Design, Development and Programming, Photography, Presentation tools, IT, Marketing tools, and web design.

Use Lexis Nexis for Foreign News

Here’s a great resource for print news (magazines and newspapers) from India, Asia, Africa and the Middle East (among others): Lexis-Nexis.

Not just recent months but the last several years in fact.

Covers topics of local foreign interest, not just different takes on international issues (although it does that as well).

Go to Lexis Nexis, and choose News, then Newspapers and Wires. Foreign Language is an option as well.

February Library eNews Is Live!

We’re excited to present the February issue of Library eNews, featuring services and resources to serve our Texas State community. This issue introduces our new 3D printing service, provides tips on career exploration and honing research skills, showcases our University Archivist and a poem written for Alkek’s “Tell Us Your Story” competition–and much more!

Library eNews (also accessible at https://digital.library.txstate.edu/handle/10877/5952)

Inside This Issue:

Director’s Message
My Home Away From Home

Tell Us Your Story Winner
“The Alkek Library,” by Isabel Briana Torres

Student Voices
How Alkek and a Hike Helped Me Find My Way

Step Up Your Research
Using Library Resources to Sharpen Research Skills

Meet Our Staff
Kristine Toma, University Archivist

News from the North
Faculty: Place Reserve Items at the RRC Library

Collections Spotlight
Calling All Art Lovers!

At the Wittliff Collections
Wittliff Exhibit Highlights Classic Texas Films

Texas State University History
Glimpses of University History on Flickr

Copyright Corner
Using Images from the Internet