New!! Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels Database

comx-series-142We now have access to the Alexander Street Press database Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels: Volume I

This is the first ever scholarly, primary-source database focused on comic books and graphic novels. Works of artists both celebrated and overlooked, alongside interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform. The aim ofthis collection is to provide a comprehensive view of alternative comics from the 1960s to today, particularly those from North America.

You can make playlists of different themes and save, share, or present them for classes.

Includes online access to The Comics Journal from 1976-2004, which we also have a print subscription to.

This database was funded by an Alkek Library One-Time Online Resource Grant. I am very excited to announce it to you all! Learn more about One-Time Online Resource Grants available for faculty and librarians to apply for.

Reminder: Faculty Online Resource Grants Due Feb. 19

Online Resource Grants

The purpose of the online  resource grants is to enable the purchasing of larger one-time online resources no one department can easily afford with its library allocation. In academic year 2013-2014, $160,000 is budgeted for such online collections.

One-time purchases typically include but are not limited to primary source databases, journal backfile collections, e-book collections, audio or streaming media collections. Some possibilities are listed on our one-time resource page. Please contact Paivi Rentz (pr11@txstate.edu) to get pricing for any products outside this list. Acquisitions will verify eligibility and pricing, and can set up trials as needed.

Guidelines

  • The resource should be online, accessible by the entire campus, and come with persistent access rights. The review committee can make an exception for an extraordinary print/microform collection not available online.
  • The resource must  be a one-time purchase. Grant funds cannot be used to support ongoing subscriptions or temporary access to a subscription resource. If the resource requires an annual access fee, the requestor’s department or other department will need to approve the ongoing cost from their library allocation.
  • The resource should enhance the library collection and strengthen research initiatives.
  • All things being equal, priority is given to higher ticket items over inexpensive ones. The library may be able to purchase less expensive items with end-of-year funds.

Review Criteria

  • Value/Anticipated Use of the Resource: Priority is given to resources that benefit many departments or programs or greatly benefit one area. More than one source of personal/departmental support may be important. The resource does not necessarily need to be multi-disciplinary. The intent is that all subject areas be represented over the years.
  • Uniqueness: Priority is given to resources that enhance the library’s collection rather than duplicate or overlap with existing collections.

Submit a proposal here

Submission deadline: Wednesday, February 19, 2014, 5pm.

Applications received after the deadline will not be considered.

The review committee consists of two members of the Library Committee, two previous recipients, and two librarians.

Timeline

Dec 3 – Feb 19: Applications are accepted
Feb 20 – March 22: Application review
End of March: Grants are announced
April – May: Resources are ordered

How to Track a Web Page’s Demographics in Compete Pro

Curious to see what keywords people type in when they’re searching for electronic goods?  Who visits target.com and how long they stayed? How many pages people click inside Amazon.com?

Are the visitors to Crate and Barrel.com young or old, male or female, high or low income?

Compete Pro is a great databases that will show you the keywords used to arrive at a web page, number of unique visitors to a specific webpage, and demographics of people (age, income, gender, etc) visiting a web site.

ducati

New Databases at Alkek

American Indian Histories and Cultures

Subjects American Indian history and cultural studies. From the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago – regarded as one of the finest gatherings in the world of materials on American Indians.
Coverage 16th to 20th century
Format Full text documents, images and maps

 

Bookmark link: http://catalog.library.txstate.edu/record=e1000841~S1a

Categories:  History, Primary Sources, Pre-1900 Texts, Maps

ComAnalytics

Subjects Communications, Journalism, Mass Media. Provides data about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and of departments of communication. It is the only national system that covers the communication field comprehensively, that properly classifies the field’s programs, and that uses metrics validated against relevant external benchmarks (ISI journal impact ratings and rankings from the NCA study of doctoral program reputation).
Coverage Current
Format Analytical data

 

Maximum Users Unlimited

 

Bookmark link: http://catalog.library.txstate.edu/record=e1000835~S1a

Categories: Communication and Journalism, Citation Analysis

 

OpenGeoSci

Subjects Map-based discovery interface providing geographic searching for more than 300,000 maps, cross-sections, charts, tables, figures and data from GeoScienceWorld publications.
Coverage 2000-present
Format Map based discovery journals and geographical topics

 

Bookmark link: http://catalog.library.txstate.edu/record=e1000843~S1a

Categories: Geography, Maps

 

Shared Shelf Commons

Subjects Free open access images from participating libraries, archives and museums around the world. Continually growing collection of unique and special collections.
Coverage Dates vary.
Format Images.
Access Info Firefox, Safari, IE browsers are recommended.

 

Bookmark link: http://catalog.library.txstate.edu/record=e1000842~S1a

Categories: Art & Design, Architecture, Images

 

Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Assessment

Subjects Individual modules show the various physical examinations performed in clinical settings and head-to-toe evaluations for various age groups. Patients and examiners represent diversity to provide students with a well-rounded, realistic view of modern clinical settings. Also emphasizes patient communication, health history, documentation and interview techniques.
Coverage 2013
Format Streaming video

 

Bookmark link: http://catalog.library.txstate.edu/record=e1000844~S1a

Categories: Health & Medicine, Streaming Video, Streaming Media

Business Students and Finding SWOTs

SWOT = Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats. These are great reports that discuss competition, product development, regulation (important to drug companies among others) and the macroeconomic picture that might affect a company.

Recommended databases:

Business Source Complete – limit your results to SWOTs

Marketline Advantage – Do a company search and select SWOT on the right side of the screen.
 
ABI Inform (keyword search your company and the word SWOT)

New Database: Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

Link to our Hobbies database: http://catalog.library.txstate.edu/record=e1000814~S1a

Resource Name Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
Subjects Detailed “how-to” instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, Quilter’s World, Popular Photography and many more
Coverage Varies
Format Full text articles, videos, recipes
Resource Type Full-Text Database

 

Material on soapmaking, making your own cigars and wine, scrapbooking, candlemaking, knitting, model building and more. Check out entire chapters on worms in your garden!

Photo: Link to our Hobbies database: http://catalog.library.txstate.edu/record=e1000814~S1a
Material on soapmaking, making your own cigars and wine, scrapbooking, candlemaking, knitting, model building and more. Check out entire chapters on worms in your garden!