About Arlene

Alkek Library's Subject Librarian for Social Work, OWLS, College of Education departments (HHP, C&I, CLAS). I also manage Alkek's Juvenile Collection. https://twitter.com/alkekarlene http://guides.library.txstate.edu/arlene

1619 Project

Alkek Library has a new exhibit featuring the 1619 Project, a New York Times program by reporter Nikole Hannah-Jones. The New York Times describes the project as a “major initiative … observing the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery”. The publication includes essays, essays, poems, short fiction, and a photo essay. The 1619 Project speaks to the history and truth of 400 years of slavery in the United States that began in August 1619, when the first enslaved Africans were brought to North America. Slavery’s legacy has persisted throughout this country’s society, from education to the criminal justice system.

The exhibit features a copy of the original publication, provided by the Texas Student Government at a Diversity Week Lunch and Learn event. Publications by Dr. Ron Johnson and Dr. Dwonna Goldstone are also included.

The exhibit is in support of the new African American Studies minor that began offering courses Fall 2019. Please visit the exhibit on the 3rd floor of Alkek Library; the glass case is located in front of the Checkout Desk. https://guides.library.txstate.edu/AAST


#1619Project  @1619Project

“Obscure, but brilliant, YA Novels”

The Guardian writes: “Teen site member jhansenwrites, creator of #VeryRealisticYA, explores some of the totally unique YA books you’ve probably not come across but really ought to look up”…and all are available at Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection.

                   

 

New Juvenile Books

Many New Books have recently been added to the Juvenile Collection and many of those are currently on exhibit. Visit the exhibit cases on the 3rd floor of the library to see what we have.  Challenger Deep was named the 2015 winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature. Alkek Library’s Juvenile Collection offers all winning, finalist, and longlist titles of the National Book Award as well as many other awards.

   

    

    

   

   

   

Harry Potter Night: A Night of Spells

Attention Parents and Teachers! If you know a Harry Potter fan, let them know about an exciting upcoming online event hosted by Bloomsbury Publishing … and don’t forget Alkek Library has many Harry Potter related material including the new illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone as well as the series in English, Spanish, Readalong CD and movie DVDs:

HP

Bloomsbury Publishing Event Announcement:

“We are very excited to announce A Night of Spells as the theme for Harry Potter Book Night 2016. Whether it is the disarming Expelliarmus or the dreaded Avada Kedavra, spells are at the very heart of the Harry Potter books so it’s the perfect theme to inspire a spellbinding event!

If you haven’t already, make a date in your diary for Thursday, 4th February 2016! Once again, fans of all ages will have the chance to celebrate J.K. Rowling’s wonderful novels – and pass the magic on to young readers who haven’t yet discovered these unforgettable books.

For the first Harry Potter Book Night in February 2015, there were an amazing 10,500 parties and celebrations held all over the world, and we were overwhelmed by your fabulous pictures – so we can’t wait to see where your imaginations take you next.

There will be masses of magical ideas, events and activities for you to get involved with, which we will be announcing over the coming months, so please do accept this as your official invitation to join the fun and start your own planning. Sign up to make sure you’re one of the first to hear all the latest Harry Potter Book Night news and new Event Kit – the deadline to receive a printed Event Kit is 23rd October 2015. Available to the first 4,000 sign-ups.

And remember to share your ideas and plans for Harry Potter Book Night on Twitter and Facebook using #HarryPotterBookNight

http://harrypotternight.com

Halloween Juvenile Books

October is not just about Fall weather, it’s also about the fun of Halloween and Day of the Dead/Dia de los Muertos. Books celebrating both traditions are currently available in the 3rd floor Juvenile Exhibit. For more books with possible Halloween tie-ins are those recognized by the Bram Stoker Young Adult Award and Edgar Allan Poe Award.

History Channel has a page about Halloween and the video Halloween Around the World provides fun information about the history of the holiday, including information about Day of the Dead. Interesting Read: The Haunted History of Halloween Candy.

 

 

 

Awards for Fantasy/Science Fiction Literature

Locus Young Adult Award is an annual set of literary awards by the science fiction and fantasy magazine Locus. The winners are selected by poll of magazine readers. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all award young adult winners and finalist titles available for checkout. The 2015 award winning Young Adult title is Half a King.

    

Similar awards are the Nebula Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction/Fantasy and Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Award. All Nebula winning and nominated and Mythopoeic winning and finalist titles are also available for check out at Alkek.

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.

Juvenile Awards for Fantasy Literature

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Award honors fantasy books for younger readers (young adults to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Alkek Library’s 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has all award winners and finalist titles available for checkout. The 2015 award winning Children’s Literature title is A Snicker of Magic.

   

Assassin

A similar award is the Nebula Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction/Fantasy and all winners and nominated titles are also available for check out at Alkek. The Young Adult award was presented in 2015 to Love Is the Drug.

   
   

See other Awards available in Alkek’s Juvenile Collection.